Posted by: das Mopf | December 3, 2008

Merry Christmas.

Merry Christmas. Yes, it’s finally christmas time. How I know? Apart from the huge christmas trees in the malls, the christmas songs in every shop, Starbucks’ new “Dark Cherry Mocca”-flavour and christmas decoration all over “Tinytown” (Ryan’s kindergarden)? It’s because today was the first day I baked christmas cookies. Vanillekipferl, kind of a sand tarte cookie thing. Also, the kids started to open one door each day of their advent calendars my mother sent for my birthday. Yesterday, after shopping, I went through the Botany to get a coffee at my favourite café (in a t-shirt and jandals. I’m still not used to that), and all of a sudden heard some brass music! When I went around a corner, I saw four guys playing christmas songs – two trumpets, a tuba and flugelhorn, kind of a french horn. They were so nice and played really lovely songs; and when I came closer, one of them asked for my favourite christmas song. They played two choruses of “Silent Night” just for me. “Have a good christmas”, they said, and that was when I decided that christmas time finally has come.

Fröhliche Weihnachten. Ja, endlich ist Weihnachtszeit. Woher ich das weiß? Abgesehen von den großen Weihnachtsbäumen in den Einkaufszentren, den Weihnachtsliedern, der Deko in “Tinytown” (Ryans Kindergarten) und dem neuen “Dunkle Schokolade Kirsch”-Geschmack bei Starbucks? Weil ich nämlich heute die ersten Weihnachtskekse gebacken hab. Vanillekipferln. Außerdem finden die Kinder es ganz toll, jeden Tag ein Türchen vom Adventskalender aufzumachen, den Mami jedem von ihnen geschickt hat. Gestern nach dem Einkaufen war ich unterwegs durch die Botany, um mir einen Kaffee in meinem Lieblingscafé zu gönnen (in T-Shirt und Sandalen, woran ich mich immer noch nicht gewöhnen kann), als ich ganz plötzlich Blechblasmusik hörte und natürlich hingehen musste. Da haben vier Kerle doch tatsächlich Weihnachtslieder gespielt – zwei Trompeten, eine Tuba und ein Flügelhorn. Als ich näher kam, fragte mich einer von ihnen nach meinem Lieblingsweihnachtslied; da gabs dann zwei Strophen “Stille Nacht” nur für mich. Und als mir dann zum Abschied “ein gutes Weihnachtsfest” gewünscht wurde, hab ich beschlossen: Heute fängt die Weihnachtszeit wirklich an.

Leave a Reply

Categories

