Posted by: das Mopf | January 7, 2009

Polite.

About five years ago, I babysitted a friend’s three little kids. Once, when they were at our place, I offered them some chocolate (Langues de chat), and, as kids are, they gladly accepted. A few minutes later, the oldest girl came to me and, quite shyly, asked: “Could one maybe have some more chocolate?”
Compare that to my kids over here. Megan would start the sentence about five times: “Fraaanziii… Can we, maybe… I was wondering, maybe… Can me and Ryan…?”, and Ryan would say no more than: “More!” (or, if looked at strangely, “More… Please!”, which would rather sound like ‘pwiiiis’). Though I’d half expect a mere grounting noise: “Mh!”

Leave a Reply

Categories

