Posted by: das Mopf | January 29, 2009

Thoughts, raw, tossed to the lions.

So she’s gone now and I bite the coffee cup Manuela left me. It aches to see the plane but not her, to know that all to soon she’ll be back in Germany, that texting her will be so much more expensive and that she, too, will be 12 hours away from a real face-to-face girly talk. When I stood, watching, I half expected someone to say: “Well, that’s the way the cookie crumbles”, but nothing happened. I still feel her warm hand holding mine on the way to the airport, her fingers curling on the back of my hand and see her tears silently running down her cheek. I miss her so much and she’s not even gone entirely, probably not even on the plane yet.
When we first met, I’d never, ever thought she could mean that much to me, but the past few weeks and months proved different. She’s one of the most stunning girls I’ve ever met, and in all the time from her first operation until now, I’ve only seen her crying twice. She’s so brave, kind-hearted, good-humoured and simply great; I’m so glad I only have about five weeks left and to concentrate on different tasks.
Hanna, thanks so much for all the time we had, for all the things we did and everything you gave me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

